Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Monthly Noob Challenge 4

Replies

• Zarakun
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Zarakun polycounter lvl 7
    Thanks, well for the textures I tweaked my process a lot these last weeks since I'm still learning. But basically, first I decimate my high poly sculpt from zbrush, unwrap the UVs manually with Roadkill/Maya and send this back to xNormal for normal/AO baking.

I also generate a second AO, a cavity and a high map from my normal map with nDo2, classical stuff I guess... I mix the AO map and overlay the cavity map or details from textures over a base color (and erase them selectively with a mask). I also generate masks from my normal blue channel and another by tweaking the levels of my height map. So, to make things short, I try to apply all of your advices until I get something I like. And some great tutorials like those from Ryan Smith or Galen Davis on 3dmotive have been really helpful too. :)

So if you guys have other advices or tricks I take everything :D
  • piko
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    @Zarakun: Wow, good advice. The process of doing all this for a low-poly model is new to me; Cool advice on obtaining a workflow. I have my high poly pillar textured and didn't think about how I was going to transfer the map. Hopefully I can render the texture from high to low along with creating the normal map, I guess...

@nbac: You dirty rascal, I hate you and your amazing (bootcamp) tutorial. Definitely will try this out when I finally get to that phase, maybe in another month, or two...
  • steppan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    steppan polycounter lvl 8
    nbac wrote: »
    i have been asked how i created this
    rubble pile, so i did a quick tutorial

it is a pretty quick and semi automated process.

maybe it is useful to someone else