Home Technical Talk

How The F*#% Do I Model This? - Reply for help with specific shapes - (Post attempt before asking)

Replies

• ApachEsH
    This question needs a little bit more context: what does it look like with subdivision applied and what is the desired result?

I’m just studying, so I’m only interested in the correct grid. So I asked your opinion :)

• Kanni3d
    Offline / Send Message
    Kanni3d ngon master
    @ApachEsH

You just need to take your support loops a vert/edge further. When you terminate it too close to the edge of the geometry like that, you'll get some gnarly pinching. Don't delete the original green lines, as that is very necessary to maintain your shape. Also you could add another holding edge to further help sub-d your mesh (blue lines)

• ApachEsH
  • FrankPolygon
    Offline / Send Message
    FrankPolygon grand marshal polycounter

For general subdivision modeling: if a mesh holds its shape, is easy to work with and subdivides cleanly then it should be fine. One way to validate topology and mesh flow strategies is to test it out using subdivision preview and a reflective material. Rotate around the shape in the view port and look for smoothing artifacts like pinching and stretching.

Like Eric mentioned: it is possible to over optimize a mesh and that can result in smoothing artifacts like pinching in the corners. Here's an example of how this optimization strategy doesn't work well in one situation but is passable in another. Smoothing artifacts and stress patterns are clearly visible in the subdivision preview. Probably best to stick with the one that doesn't pinch and is easier to add loops to.