Home Technical Talk

A new modeling tool released

Replies

• polyxo
    ghib,
    your description of the current state matches my impression. You among just very few others seem to have an overview what all is inside the App and accessible under which conditions. I found great if you guys really could devote some time of concentrated work to wire this mess back together. No idea how that could work, but I was willing to donate to make this happen.

On Keyboard Shortcuts: Of course I don't want anything to get removed here but
    the Complexity created through Customizability is a matter I believe has to get addressed too. At least some serious Documentation has to take place! The Help Entries on the Streamline-Engine do not help me. I guess you are one of the very few people here who really understands how the normal Hotkeys and this Streamline Engine work together.
  • storm3
    I guess I'm just a different kind of modeler than a couple of you, because most of my models are game related, and I make extensive use of the: Polygon Tool, Retopo tool, Edge Tools, and mostly Tweaking, Move, Rotate, Scale, Cut, Extrude, and Primitives sometimes, Stuff like this is all you really need to make a decent game ready model, and last time I checked all of these tools were working perfectly, especially now that you can start and finish a new poly in an empty scene, and / or use vert tools create / insert or edge -> retopo, polygon -> create poly.. Several ways to accomplish the same task, but sometimes this is good, because it allowed me to make my own retopo tool, that can be activated in anymode via streamline tool, and it first switches to poly mode then starts create poly simply by hitting the letter "M" works out pretty good.. Less time since you don't have to first click on poly tools then create poly or vice versa, I guess this is the reason for 3 ways to do same thing though huh, so no matter what mode your in, you can make a new poly..