Home Contests & Challenges Archives Team Fortress 2

Team Fortress 2 - Workshop Thread

Replies

• e-barron
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ColonelBD wrote: »
    He's called Larolaro, he also did the homewrecker and tank buster pack.

There should be a Maya importer and exporter, however i wouldn't know how to get A TF2 style shader in it.

Toon shading with rimlighting and phong is ithe shader at its simplest I think.
    THX :p
    Larolaro ok :P i hope he doesn't hate me for asking such questions for he is a good artist and i am new to this. My main problem is the reflectivity of the same obsidian While it is not a metal it's more like a mineral, volcanic one. It has a lot of details so i have to delete a lot of em to fit style.
    obsidiana%2B014.jpg

I found a post of how to make spec maps for TF2 and it says this:

"Most metal textures you see on models in TF2 will be accompanied by a specular map. These spec maps are generally based on the diffuse texture with ambient occlusion included. Including ambient occlusion in the specular map helps to emphasize the shininess of the edges by making anything in crevices dull."
    So it means that if i combine both AO and Diffuse i will have a good Spec map for tf2? is this part that confuse me -->"Including ambient occlusion in the specular map " or he refers that i have to make the Spec map and add it AO? I am very confussed in that sense, i know how to make AO maps so i hoe it will be easy to combine both.:poly141:
  • ColonelBD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yes you multiply the AO over the spec map, and then flatten the image and add it too the diffuses alpha channel. You don't put it on anything transparent though like on the syringegun.
  • roninsmastermix
    50calibersnipersample11.jpg
    My never ending quest to get the best possible color scheme for this pack. Version 11. Thoughts on it?
  • Flat Face
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Flat Face polycounter lvl 10