Home Technical Talk

How The F*#% Do I Model This? - Reply for help with specific shapes - (Post attempt before asking)

Replies

• kuronekoshiii
    Offline / Send Message
    kuronekoshiii polycounter lvl 2
    Does anyone know what is the right topology for this one? I just can't seem to get the right one. 
  • FrankPolygon
    Offline / Send Message
    FrankPolygon grand marshal polycounter
    @kuronekoshiii It's generally considered best practice to have enough geometry in the cylinder to be able to use it as support for the intersecting geometry. A few pages back there's a discussion about different topology strategies for that particular shape and how much geometry is enough to minimize smoothing artifacts.

• kuronekoshiii
    Offline / Send Message
    kuronekoshiii polycounter lvl 2
    Million thanks! 
  • wirrexx
    Offline / Send Message
    wirrexx ngon master
    Kanc3 said:
    Hi all to the master here, I'm pretty new to 3D and I was trying to model a halo battle rifle called BR85HB, and I faced some problem which I don't really know how the topology work at this section because there are like hole etc, wonder if anyone here know how it work for the topology? 

So sometimes when i think something is to advanced, I usually tend to break it up to smaller parts right, Concentrate on on one and slowly work myself on the next piece. When I am done, I try to Merge them together. Try it that way?

Also, try to show your example before posting.
    So I will use photoshop once again.

Two ways to go at least for me. If something is hard I can also use the technique to draw how the edgeflow would go.
    In this case, this piece is rather flat, so should be easy to use ngons and tris everywhere without having issues.

You could either split this up in three pieces and work them out (without adding support loops). Then merge and add the supporting loops.

You can go with the bigger shape to smaller shape workflow.