Home Contests & Challenges Archives

Team Fortress 2: Polycount Pack - Questions and Answers

Replies

• Joshua Stubbles
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joshua Stubbles polycounter lvl 19
    DeBoo wrote: »
    Hey guys. I have one question. Which program, Max or Maya, are easier to use, because I'm new to 3D modeling world. And which program are better to create items for TF2? :)

That's just fuel for a fire you don't want to light, man :P

Neither of them is "easier" to learn. They both have good and bad features and I believe there are SMD importer/export plugins for both.
  • Betty Hime
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Betty Hime polycounter lvl 9
    DeBoo wrote: »
    Hey guys. I have one question. Which program, Max or Maya, are easier to use, because I'm new to 3D modeling world. And which program are better to create items for TF2? :)

There are a lot more tutorials for the tf2 modelling in max, so i'd go with that.
  • StickFigs
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    StickFigs polycounter lvl 6
    "Hey guys whatever you do don't you go ruining our consistent 50's Spy-Fi art direction!" *Puts disembodied cartoon rabbit head hat and iPod earbuds into the game*

-Valve
  • Mico27
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    It seems that making exclusive item for promoting events/games can be exception of this rule :/
  • Simski
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mico27 wrote: »
    It seems that making exclusive item for promoting events/games can be exception of this rule :/
    Bah, a lot of other things Valve have implemented have been extremely far-fetched or downright out of character as well.
  • Kakashi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    do i have to model my hats or weapons? can i draw the instead? i don't know hot to model and i don't get the tutorial on the TF2 forums!
  • Swizzle
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Swizzle polycounter lvl 15
    do i have to model my hats or weapons?
    Yes.