Home General Discussion

Shoddy games courses.

admin
Offline / Send Message
System admin
Right, I’ve graduated from a Games course and while I was there it wasn’t particularly spectacular and I didn’t take the initiative while I was there to do what I should have – Complain. Now, while I’m no professional with years of industry experience I can still tell when what they’re teaching just isn’t of great worth.

Like I’ve said though, I’m now graduated but I do keep in touch with some of the students who still attend and I continue to hear stories about just how poor it’s being handled. I love to argue and I’m really considering writing a letter or something akin to that to get something done about it. I’m just wondering if I have any authority or right to do so.

I mean, I’m yet to get a job or do anything that shows I know better so my words don’t have any weight behind them. I also know that the concept behind games courses isn’t exactly great, after all there are already courses that teach the fundamentals in the various aspects required better and with more focus. However it still riles me up to see hacks running a course with such incompetence and lack of passion.

Also, just out of curiosity – Is bad mouthing places you’ve previously attended frowned upon?

Replies

• Yozora
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yozora polycounter lvl 11
    I dont think you can do anything about it. The courses aren't there to turn you into a pro, I see it as a very expensive bit of motivation to force you to do something creative. The more you put in to it, the more rewarding the time spent will be. If you just follow what they say and hit all their criteria then you're really not doing it properly.