Home Technical Talk

3DS Max Flipped UVW Faces

ColMatrix
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
ColMatrix polycounter lvl 2

Hi all,

thanks for taking the time to review my post. I am having many issues at the moment and I am noticing my hair turning grey by the day. Any help would be appreciated. Firstly I have spent a lot of time trying to find a solution - unsuccessfully. If i am writing here, I am stuck, and cannot solve it other avenues are exhausted. 🤯

I have had issues with Normal Maps (finding quite difficult) in Substance 3D which made me come back to the model to try and detect any issues. I am still new to Normal Mapping, and finding some results beautiful and others a nightmare. Further Issues I will post seperately with a different title to assist others in the future.

I have tried:

• Flipping and mirroring in Unwrap (some go, other appear. Sometimes, selecting one poly and flipped etc doesnt do anything).
  • XForm
  • Collapsing the stack
  • Normal Flip in Edit Poly (was of course useless, but am desperate what can I say!)
  • Reset UVWs and tried again

Thanks in advance

Replies

• Noors
    Offline / Send Message
    Noors greentooth

You are not clearly describing what your problem actually is.

What do you want to achieve ? Maybe post a screenshot of your unwrap ? Of your bakes ?

Looks like you have a lot of misconceptions about what does what.

Baking correct normal maps isnt really hard once you get why you have to do things a certain way, People tend to see them as voodoo magic.

• ColMatrix
    Offline / Send Message

Hi Noors,

thanks for responding. 😉 VooDoo magic at first, definately. I am the kind of guy that reads a lot, has a basic understanding. To fully understand the concepts I need to do it and learn from mistakes - which is where I am at now.