Home Technical Talk

Efficient way to texture a topographically complex mech for Unreal?

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
BlueBlankey polycounter lvl 6
Hi, I'm attempting to texture a mech but am not sure if what I'm doing is a good way to do it.
The model was made in Sketchup so it's topographically "weird", I'm using 3dsmax to unwrap it and planning on using Substance Painter to make a set of material masks with Ue4 being the target renderer.

I've never made a "proper" unwrap of anything like this before so I have no idea how it'll turn out, a single 4k map would probably be good enough but I have no experience in material blending either. Also nearly every part is dismemberable, so there's lots of geometry that's hidden a majority of the time that would be eating up UV space. (I might have internal components on a separate UV channel with a different material indexl)

The way I have it set up now is to split everything that's bilateral, auto-unwrap everything and go around making sure there's no overlaps or excess area deformation. The mesh is made of 100 individual objects so it's a veeery tedious thing to do. 3dsmax also has a pretty unimpressive way of packing tons of tiny islands, so I may have to snoop around for an alternative packer.

So my question is there a better way to do this, either in workflow, end product, or potential software alternatives? The end goal is a real-time game in Ue4 and it may take up a large percentage of the screen, but doesn't need to be next-gen quality per-se. This is also the first of several so it would be good to nail down a set procedure that doesn't take a thousand years. (but if that's the only way then so be it)

Thank you for any suggestions!

Replies

• gnoop
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    gnoop polycounter