[Maya] Quick Pipe : Curve-Edge Based Path Creation Tool

sublime tool
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Fansub sublime tool

Hey there,it's Fansub !

You can grab the Beta right here !

https://gum.co/QPipe1a

I've been working for the past three months on my first and biggest MEL script yet,and today i can finally talk a bit more about it !

Quick Pipe is a curve-edge based path creation tool for Maya.With it’s selection-based formula,Quick Pipe lets you create multiple shapes like tubes,pipes,ropes,corrugated pipes,floating bevels,welds,caves,corridors,etc...

http://i.giphy.com/l3V0qii9ogYOimUVy.gif

You can choose to stay in the tool’s comfort zone and prototype with it as much as you want to see the results happening in real-time,or go crazy and play with different profiles to get some weirdly unexpected results.
Quick Pipe comes with a relatively small documentation and a dozen of videos to show you how to create multiple shapes with it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x0WDjqNE4EA

The tool is developed completely with MEL scripting and i used Sublime as my IDE.Quick Pipe is currently compatible with Maya 2015,2016 and 2016.5.
Maya 2014 and Maya LT support will be added in the coming weeks !

Quick Pipe is currently being beta tested but you can already get it on Gumroad for 8$ !

Replies

• Zelfit
    Offline / Send Message
    Zelfit polycounter lvl 8
    Hey @Fansub I think I found the problem. It happens when your animation slider not on 1st frame. If quickpipe created not on a first frame it wont work properly.
  • bitinn
    Offline / Send Message
    bitinn polycounter lvl 6
    Hi @Fansub,

Once again I am testing your script on the Mac platform (I know you don't currently support it), but let me report back on some findings:

-----

- First of all, it works. But not without some troubleshooting myself.

- The main problem being the Main UI doesn't launch. I mean I am able to get through the welcome window. But somewhere this check fails: