[Maya] Quick Pipe : Curve-Edge Based Path Creation Tool

sublime tool
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Fansub sublime tool

Hey there,it's Fansub !

You can grab the Beta right here !

https://gum.co/QPipe1a

I've been working for the past three months on my first and biggest MEL script yet,and today i can finally talk a bit more about it !

Quick Pipe is a curve-edge based path creation tool for Maya.With it’s selection-based formula,Quick Pipe lets you create multiple shapes like tubes,pipes,ropes,corrugated pipes,floating bevels,welds,caves,corridors,etc...

http://i.giphy.com/l3V0qii9ogYOimUVy.gif

You can choose to stay in the tool’s comfort zone and prototype with it as much as you want to see the results happening in real-time,or go crazy and play with different profiles to get some weirdly unexpected results.
Quick Pipe comes with a relatively small documentation and a dozen of videos to show you how to create multiple shapes with it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x0WDjqNE4EA

The tool is developed completely with MEL scripting and i used Sublime as my IDE.Quick Pipe is currently compatible with Maya 2015,2016 and 2016.5.
Maya 2014 and Maya LT support will be added in the coming weeks !

Quick Pipe is currently being beta tested but you can already get it on Gumroad for 8$ !

Replies

• jRocket
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jRocket polycounter lvl 18
    It would be nice if there were an interactive mode for this...kind of like bevel, extrude, and most of the other built in modeling tools where there is that popup that lets you adjust the parameters of the tool. The way you're doing it by executing the script command again to cycle through the attributes does save me from manually changing them in the channel box, but it's not very intuitive or consistent with the rest of the modeling toolset in maya.

*edit*