Home Technical Talk

How The F*#% Do I Model This? - Reply for help with specific shapes - (Post attempt before asking)

Replies

• markzhangdesign
    sorry just discover this thread. So figure just post here would be better. So I am using maya to model. any tips on maya helps better. 

Specifically, I am having a real hard time struggling with creating smooth clean curved surface without lumpy / pinching areas.

Was it the topologies? or some tools to fix this?

Here is the concept and the 3D blockout. Thanks.

• Adesh
    @markzhangdesign

Hi, I'm no expert but I used to have the same problem as you and I found out that it was due to bad topology, vertices not aligned. Try to average the vertices which are causing the dents.

Here is my result
    Also try to avoid unnecessary edge loops, its easier to handle fewer vertices.
  • markzhangdesign
    Adesh said:
    @markzhangdesign

Hi, I'm no expert but I used to have the same problem as you and I found out that it was due to bad topology, vertices not aligned. Try to average the vertices which are causing the dents.

Here is my result
    Also try to avoid unnecessary edge loops, its easier to handle fewer vertices.
    perfect Adesh! Can I have a look at the unsmoothed wireframe? I am really new to 3d modeling.  Thanks a lot. Your topology is way better, makes sense. 
  • markzhangdesign

what I have come up with, seems a little better. Still not quite right. :(
  • Adesh
    Keep on modeling, you will get better over time.
    Here is the unsmoothed mesh

I have attached the file, you can find it below. It might not be perfect. I would be nice if a mod looked at it, just to be safe. As im no expert, i dont want to teach you something that im doing wrong. :)
  • markzhangdesign
    Adesh said:
    Keep on modeling, you will get better over time.
    Here is the unsmoothed mesh