Home General Discussion

Star Wars Episode VII, The Force Awakens...

Replies

• almighty_gir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    almighty_gir ngon master
    @Rizzler

Do you not feel it adds to the depth of the characters, that two Jedi Masters (Anakin was inarguably that without the title) IN THE PRIME OF THEIR LIVES would put on more of a "spectacle" of a fight than a machine and a self taught prodigy?

You argue that kicking is brutish, and that they come off as sluggish when they can deflect blaster fire due to their precognition.

But look at it this way, they're both precognitive, they're both able to see or sense their opponents moves, it's not just a physical fight but a mental and emotional one as well. Since the use or abuse of force power comes down to the emotional state of the wielder (Jedi require a state of calm to be at their most powerful, while Sith require passion) you could argue that a kick from Anakin has a dual effect:
    1. It's brutish, but it's also a sign of passion and power, he's imposing his dominance over Obi-wan.
    2. It rocks Obi-wan's own focus, causing his mastery to come into question.

The reason that particular dual looks more like a dance with light sticks than an actual sword fight, is because IT IS. In a real dual a swordsman will usually be thinking a move or two ahead of their current stroke, but in a Jedi duel they're trying to be a crazy amount ahead, because they're not just countering this move or the next, but the next 5 to 10 seconds ahead. They're positioning themselves for moves that may or may not even happen (since the future is always in-flux).

I think that duel in particular speaks to the power of Obi-wan and Anakin, and it speaks to their ability to use the force. I think it helps re-enforce just how badass they are in the original trilogy as a result.