Home General Discussion

The Polycount Art Project (ATTENTION: Lurkers, Professionals and Students)

Replies

• kaze369
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kaze369 polycounter lvl 8
    So how is this any different then "My friends and I are getting together and creating a project and by the way we'll document the whole thing and post it on the forums".

I was part of the 'Unofficial' Polycount Collaboration Project at the beginning and despite our eagerness it fell apart, I did my best to keep it alive, and a lot of people that worked on it left. Maybe this way is better but I don't see the reason to making a thread about it.
  • SiegePerilous
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SiegePerilous polycounter lvl 9
    I'm a character artist. Would love to work on a polycount group project with attainable goals that would eventually be "complete". A successful small project could pave the way for a larger one?

I'd be happy to work with other people who are trying to get better as long as there was someone with some experience who could divvy out work and at least attempt to assign deadlines.

Having some say in what that project was would be a plus, although I know what can happen if too many people have too many ideas and too much shared control.
  • Kurry
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I like the idea. There can't ever be said bad things about pro's sharing their knowledge. But, I like the challenges aswell. The mistakes and challenges that amateurs artists face are more down to my level. I tend to learn more from those threads then the pro ones since that feels like black magic most of the time. :)

The most ideal thing for me would combining the two. Kick off a challenge where everyone could participate. Give it some art direction rules etc and when the challenge is done, pick the best art from every catagory (Character, Env, Props etc.) and put a pro team together that way and take it to the next level.