Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] Scott Homer - Environment Artist

Replies

• scotthomer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ive got to agree with you on that one, im not a character artist so that really inst my forte. I'm considering completely dropping the piece as it isn't games art. Id be happy to collaborate with someone if they wanted to create a statue for the scene. Otherwise im going to have to leave that piece where it is I think. Its a shame but it seems like its a fairly weak piece that doesn't showcase anything other than half decent lighting.
  • imperator_dk
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    imperator_dk polycounter lvl 10
    I'm pretty sure you can pull off modelling an Anubis statue / pillar based on your other stuff, i would just get into it. You can get away with a lot more on a model like that than you can on a realism based character model.
  • whats_true
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    whats_true polycounter lvl 15
    Cool stuff dude. Do you have any drawing skills or concepts to show the process behind your art work?
  • Heartless
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Heartless polycounter lvl 8
    Good stuff. I may be wrong here, but wouldn't it be a good idea to work on a larger scale full environment instead of just modules and assets? Showing you know how to make pieces of an environment is good, but I'd assume possible future employers would like to see that you know how to fit all the puzzle pieces together.
  • scotthomer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I'm pretty sure you can pull off modelling an Anubis statue / pillar based on your other stuff, i would just get into it. You can get away with a lot more on a model like that than you can on a realism based character model.