Home Technical Talk

How The F*#% Do I Model This? - Reply for help with specific shapes - (Post attempt before asking)

Replies

• swytch
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    swytch polycounter lvl 8
    passerby,

Sorry, should have been a little more explanatory. Fastest way is to select the code between the parentheses and drag it to a toolbar in Max to make a button. You can right click on the new button and select "Edit Button Appearance..." to label it, give it a tool tip, etc. Then just select some objects and click the button to assign the wire color and material to them. You can assign a hotkey to it as well from the Customize > Customize User Interface... menu. It will be in the DragAndDrop Category as Macro##. I'm a noob at Maxscript, so there are definitely more elegant ways to do this.
  • Perfectblue
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Have the whole blockout done with plane extrusion, just having a hard time getting the shape of the cockpit glass just right.

harrier_cockpit-1.png

perna wrote: »
    ok, but that's how most of us would do it.

Understood. I thought it may have been a bad a approach since Jets are cylindrical and your not supposed to move verts on cylinders, or make them yourself from planes.
  • sneakymcfox
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Have started a Rafale jet but so far every approach I've taken to these vents and how they merge into the main fuselage has left me with really messy GEO

The intakes: rafalebtlp047of144.jpg

What they Look like with the rest of the plane:
    20110527mnart0336.jpg
  • binopittan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Have the whole blockout done with plane extrusion, just having a hard time getting the shape of the cockpit glass just right.

harrier_cockpit-1.png

Understood. I thought it may have been a bad a approach since Jets are cylindrical and your not supposed to move verts on cylinders, or make them yourself from planes.