Home General Discussion

Your dream studio?

Replies

• Mathew O
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mathew O polycounter
    Crytek/Ubisoft Montreal, though I can't speak French and Canada probably wouldn't want me so Crytek!

Somewhere with some really talented artists that I can learn from :D
  • glottis8
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    glottis8 polycounter lvl 9
    leleuxart wrote: »
    I'm not experienced with this too much yet, but what project doesn't have a little bit of bad management, over scope, or bad planning? I guess I should clarify that I'm talking about large scale, AAA titles, not mobile games or indie companies that work whenever they want to.

I don't think so... Blizzard works on big titles and they encourage you to work 8 hr days, and overtime is paid overtime. So to do overtime you would prbly have to be approved first. If you can't do your work in 8 hrs then you are doing something wrong. If you don't have enough time and you are working hard, then its over scoped. The whole what project doesn't have a little bit of bad management is a statement that we should encourage people to stay away from. If we want to change the industry, those changes come through us. So we need to be clear of what can be done, and express the limitations of our work. A good workplace will have these, and trust your work. Not exploit you.

Like everyone said... time is too precious to be wasted, and it does fly by. I just think the motivations of a studio would be more productive when the passion to make something memorable and not a money maker is there. But its hard... a company has to make revenue to stay in business. Here at 1p, we do pretty awesome, i don't have to get worried about my job for the time being, and i enjoy the tech and all the stuff i learn everyday. Apart from being in direct contact with the game impact in art, design and gameplay.

it's a nice thread. I like the ideas of what would make a better studio.
  • JacqueChoi