Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

normal mapping a head: help needed

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
nkoste polycounter lvl 18
So I'm finally getting around to learning zbrush although I've been a registered zb owner for more than a year now and I want to try and make a normal mapped head. I've never done normal mapping before so I'm confused confused.gif

So far I've completed a lo-res mesh modeled in wings and a hires subdivided and detailed in zbrush. Only the lo-res version is UV mapped the hi-res is not. I'm hoping to find out whether not Uv mapping the head before detailing was a mistake since I want to do the normal map with zbrush. The practical guide on normal mapping doesn't really get me anywhere. I tried to do some research but search words like normal map, zbrush and tutorial gives me tons of results with no real pay off, know what I mean? I'm hoping someone can provide links to threads or tuts or perhaps even tell me how to produce a normal map in zbrush with my two current assets.

Any help appreciated smile.gif

lotrhead_lohi.jpg

Replies

• FAT_CAP
    Offline / Send Message
    FAT_CAP polycounter lvl 18
    If you download the ZBRUSH practical guide it has a section on baking normal maps. You can get this from the ZBRUSH central forum

I dont get what your saying about the low-poly model being uv-mapped, but the high-poly isn't though? If you're baking your normal map in ZBRUSH then you will be baking it onto your lowest subdivision level (lowest poly mesh)... so if this is UVmapped, then your high-poly ZBRUSH model will to as they share the same base mesh (i.e the lowest subdivision level). Am I making sense here?!?!?

Heheh - anyway - you've gone about it the right way - the high-polygon mesh doesn't need UVmapping (unless you are going to paint a bump map in ZBRUSH aswell) but the low-polygon version does. It looks to me as if your all ready to go.
  • nkoste
    Offline / Send Message