Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Modelled a Table

node
Offline / Send Message
KidoUmi node

So far, for the room modelling brief, I have managed to create a table. It took me around 3 or so hours because I have never used maya 2022 before, and have little modelling experience. The first time I modelled, I sculpted in Blender. It has been interesting learning the specific techniques needed to make it. I have learnt so much just from modelling it, and can't wait to make more. One particular thing I learnt how to use was a lattice to not only bend the legs inwards, but also narrow two that were too big. Their bigger size was due to me not making edge flows in increments; I learnt how to do that after they were made and I think it was quicker to bend them into size rather than delete all the legs and start over. The lattice has been very useful in making the table look accurate. The easiest part of the process was the extrude to create the legs, whilst ensuring there was enough edge flow to allow a welded sort of look, and preserve curves. The table top had a failed version with far too many divisions, but the final one, made using a cube instead of a plane, was successful and bevelled just fine.

As the table is now, it's far from perfect however. I have had an issue where the table looks fine in low poly mode, but when I press 3 and smooth it, the model stops looking like the one in my room picture e.g hard sharp legs and smooth bottoms. The legs lose their straight sharpness. The bottom of the legs look like lumpy potatoes when I smooth it, and it may be due to the lattice, I'm not sure. Does anyone have a fix for this? How can I make straight table legs that bend, with a smooth surface at the bottom, that turn into what's shown in the picture? Many thanks 

Replies

• andreygheorghe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    andreygheorghe polycounter lvl 9

Hey!