Homeā€ŗ 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UE4] PostApo Safe House

hublus
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
hublus polycounter lvl 4

Hi everyone, I want to share environment I have been working on for a bit more than 2 months now. Goal for this project was to create environment that could be main piece in my environment art portfolio I'm trying to build right now. I find myself in place where tweaks I'm making aren't changing much and I don't think I can push it forward without some critique. If anyone could give me honest opinion if it's portfolio worthy or I'm not there yet, I would really appreciate it.

Environment was inspired mostly by Days Gone and The Last of Us. Modelling done in Blender/Zbrush, texturing Substance Painter/Designer. Only thing I can't take credit for is painting on the wall. It's Langlois Bridge at Arles by Vincent Van Gogh.

Thanks in advance for any critique and advice.

Replies

• Fabi_G
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fabi_G insane polycounter

Hey! I think generally it looks quite good already!

Some random notes:

- Door handles look a bit tiny

- Maybe it would fit the theme more if doors/windows where reinforced

- Some objects look bit floating/ no contact shadow (gasoline cans, box next to scissors, couch in front of windows)

- "The end" wall writing is to overdesigned imo, like a wall sticker. Maybe more freehand writing.

- Some simple metal shelves could break up the walls more (storage of loot

- Lamp looks a bit repetitive - destroy?

- maybe slightly tone down wallpaper tear down. It almost becomes repetitive.

I can recommend making overpaints to try things out quickly.

Keep it up :)

• hublus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    hublus polycounter lvl 4