Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Aftermarket MPX SMG (Looking for Criticism)

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
coolguyslims polycounter lvl 2

Hello,

This is a MPX model I've been working on for a while. I've been modeling the whole thing in Maya.

It's my biggest project so far, but I can't help but think that the edges are all too sharp for a high-poly model. I keep seeing people make high-poly models in ZBrush and I feel like they look so much better. Also is it just me or does the Aimpoint PRO optic look far tighter and sharp compared to the rest of the gun? I feel like the difference between low-poly and high-poly on this project is too small. I'm thinking I should just use ZBrush for all my high-poly work.

I've never got past the high-poly stage of modeling a full scale project, so I'm a bit new to this. I've also never baked anything this complex onto a low-poly version.

What do you all think? Is there enough detail here to be a good high-poly? I welcome your thoughts and criticism.

Thank you.

EDIT:
I should also mention that the stock is in low-poly at the moment, disregard that part.

Replies

• teodar23
    Offline / Send Message
    teodar23 sublime tool
    The aimpoint seems rather large.

I dont know if maya has this but maybe there's a relax modifier in order to soften the edges.

Regarding the baking... brace yourself. Grab some tutorials, some popcorn and do some test bakes.

Good start!
  • Rektum
    Offline / Send Message
    Rektum polycounter lvl 7
    It looks like you have enough detail here to bake. Many of the high frequency details can be added while you texture. 

I agree that some of your edges are way too sharp(when compared to battlefield 4 weapons.) it can be scary to smooth out those corners because you lose edge definition but you’ll get it back once you get into texturing.