Home Technical Talk

What is a good Monitor for 3D Work?

DerMalt
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
DerMalt polycounter lvl 3

Hey Guys, 

I’m a 3D Artist, mostly modeling and texturing, but I occasionally also work on Artworks, matte paintings, editing videos etc. 

I currently have a 160€ 27” monitor, and want to buy another one, so that I have a double monitor setup. My budget is about 300€. 

Because I have very little knowledge on hardware, I searched online for some help and found this article: https://www.cgdirector.com/best-monitor-graphic-design-video-editing-3d/ 

This really helped me understand what is important for my kind of work and what not. 

After reading the article, I started searching on Amazon for monitors in my price range, and found a few that seamed okay.

Dell S2721D, 27 Zol  

iiyama Prolite XUB2792QSU-B1 68,5cm (27") 

Dell S2721D, 27” or Dell S2721DS, 27” 

iiyama ProLite B2791QSU-B1 68,5cm (27") 

Though, on neither of them I can find any information about Color accuracy. 

Do any of you have some tips, or maybe even some monitors they can recommend, that fit in my budget? 

What I’m looking for: 

• 2560px x 1440px resolution (maybe even 4k, but I don’t think I need that, so I’ll probably want that money to go into the color accuracy). 

• ISP panel   

• 27” 

• Matte reflection 

• 60 Hz is fine 

• Vesa mount for monitor arm 

• Somewhat color accurate 

I know that 300€ is not that much for a monitor. Though currently I’m still a student and don’t have the money for more. My plan is, that maybe in two or three year I will buy a more expensive one and will get rid of the 160€ monitor. 

Replies

• Axi5
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Axi5 interpolator
    I think 300EUR should actually be a decent amount for what you're looking for!

Check Rtings is your best bet Dell S2721D Review - RTINGS.com, they also have a table view for you to sort by your use case Monitor Table Tool - RTINGS.com