Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] M1911 HardSurface training

Hey there!

Im new here, and basically new on this whole hardsurface and making of assets for videogames.

So i basically made a M1911 to give myself a project for a portfolio, it would be really nice to get some critice.

Im really new to substance painter but it seems my bakes are fine?

I forgot to do a lot of basic geometry stuff in the process, like the grips.

Any suggestion would be appreciated!

Replies

• sacboi
    Offline / Send Message
    sacboi high dynamic range
    Can you post wireframes of both HiPoly and LoPoly cages, please?

7k seems a little high for a pistol or maybe just me nitpicking?!

Although some area's can be improved/revised, like the width which is slightly narrow but overall a close silhouette approximation when compared with a ref.

• VisionsInMyHead

Btw i have a question, i have been trying to make the uv packing process high quality, but it seems some parts dont bake as spected, so im studying texel density and i wanted to know if i could make this gun bake in a single UV map or i might have to split it in Two UV maps

• teodar23
    Offline / Send Message
    teodar23 sublime tool
    For a small gun like this i think one texture set is enough. You might want to scale up some important UV islands to get a bit more detail and probably better bakes. Could you detail what the problem is with the bakes? Might not be related to the scale of the uv island but with the way it was unwrapped.
    Edit: try straightening some of those cylindrical uvs, that might solve it.
  • VisionsInMyHead
    teodar23 said:
    For a small gun like this i think one texture set is enough. You might want to scale up some important UV islands to get a bit more detail and probably better bakes. Could you detail what the problem is with the bakes? Might not be related to the scale of the uv island but with the way it was unwrapped.