Home Unreal Engine

FWVN edge wear material function for dynamic procedural texturing

Replies

• jorg1234
    Ok I see, well, thanks for the normalmap function anyways!  :):)
  • miguel1900
    Hi @Obscura !

So great results. Would it work with landscape's curvatures, for example, to "detect" water erosion? Or it only work from normal maps?

Thank you!
  • Obscura
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter
    Hi. This version only works with normal maps. Though hooking up a normla map of the landscale would work.
  • BrunoWerneck
    Hi Krystof!
    I bought your awesome material function from Gumroad but I'm new to Unreal and am having trouble plugging it into my textures. This is as far as i got. What steps am i missing? Could you please create a material as an example and post a screenshot here? 

Thanks in advance!
    -Bruno
  • Obscura
    Offline / Send Message
    Hello @BrunoWerneck

Right click on your texture node->convert to texture object. You can also place a "texture object parameter" node if you want to change it in a material instance, and assign the texture to it after placing the node.
  • BrunoWerneck
    Thanks for the quick reply Krystof,
    So, do I link Curvature to Normal at the end, like this?

Thanks in advance!
    -Bruno
  • Obscura
    Offline / Send Message
    No. It gives you 2 masks so you need to use component mask and select either r or g. Red contains the convex edges and the green contains the concave ones. Then you can use these to drive other properties such as color, or roughness on edges. You can also combine those with some grunge map to make the lines less straight. To sample the normal map, put a simple "texture sample" node and plug the texture object into the "tex" input of it.
  • ThunderOwl
    Offline / Send Message
    ThunderOwl polycounter lvl 2