Home Technical Talk

how to model this

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
hi,

How can I model this M4 front handguard in maya ? I recently started learning modeling and having a hard time to model this for more refer image.

rBVaR1qXqPGAefTkAALGsNSTQ9w003jpg 800800

Replies

• fdfxd2
    Offline / Send Message
    fdfxd2 interpolator
    This would be the part where I'd snarkily type "tutorial pl0x" but,

There literally already is a video tutorial showing you how to model something pretty similar, lucky.

Extra tip, picatinny rails, they have set measurements, so you can base the rest of the proportions of the part(and the gun too probably)  based of them.

I'd model those first

• Heman
    thank you for help  and I did search many youtube tutorials but I couldnt make any good handrails soo I thought of asking. Thanks
  • dlz
    Offline / Send Message
    dlz polycounter lvl 4
    As a general rule to model hard surfaces i always try to model the primary forms and then add the detail, in your case there's also a reptition so you have to keep that in mind too.
    fdfxd2 I would use a similar technique than the video he posted but making use of some booleans.

• kanga
    Offline / Send Message
    kanga quad damage
    I like the video above! If you have access to zBrush you can use booleans in Blender or 3dmax (dont know about Maya but it should work) for those pesky hole details, and very simple modelling for complex form combinations. You can find the method here: https://polycount.com/discussion/168610/3ds-max-zbrush-proboolean-dynamesh-hardsurface-workflow-tutorial/p1

• dlz
    Offline / Send Message
    dlz polycounter lvl 4
    @kanga Great workflow! I tested a bit with maya and i see that it works fine too.  You can even transfer the creased edges you have in maya to zbrush (export in maya as .ma to get that working).