Home Technical Talk

3Ds Max UV Unwrapp Disappears after adding smoothing groups to the object !

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
VanessaCeline polycounter lvl 3
So, in 3ds max, while uv ing i noticed that one face did not have a smoothing group. So I went to the Editable poly modifier, added a smoothing group to that face, and when I went back to the Unwrap UVW Modifier the uv editor was empty. This also happens if i collapse everything before and at the Unwrap UVW again. Does anyone know what is happening? ( Sorry if I chose the wrong forum category, it's my first time posting here. If anyone knows a better place where this could be posted don't hesitate telling me, thanks )

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I've moved this from General Discussion to Technical Talk.

UVW Unwrap modifier is very fragile. The edits you make depend highly on the vertices coming into it from down below.

If you do some UV edits, then switch to a lower modifier and change something, there's a high likelihood the Unwrap modifier will throw away all your edits.

Unwrap relies on the vertex numbering to edit the UVs. If you change those numbers, Unwrap will get confused.

Whenever you're done and want to exit the Unwrap modifier, right click on the modifier and choose Collapse To. The UV edits will then be "saved" into the modifier below it. 

Do whatever mesh edits you want, then add a new UVW Unwrap. You will see your UVs again, ready for editing.

I hope this helps you. 
  • VanessaCeline
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    @Eric Chadwick I have actually done that and, same thing, the unwrapp disappeared. I did not change anything with vertices or edges, just the smoothing groups. Do you think it would maybe work if I add an edit poly on top of the unwrap, and then another unwrap on top of that? Don't know if that's a bad idea or not. 
  • huffer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    huffer interpolator