Home Technical Talk

Maya to Blender 2.8 learning curve. How steep is it ?

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
GlowingPotato polycounter lvl 10
Hi guys,
I started learning Maya 8 years ago, self taught.

I began my career working at publicity agencies doing renders for cosmetics using mental ray (PITA).
Today I'm in the game industry (4 years now) as a generalist, doing almost everything (modeling, rigging, animating (poorly), texturing).
I'm very familiar with Maya features, bugs, workarounds and tools. But zero knowledge about Blender.

I would like to know from others who migrated to Blender, how hard is it? How good or bad are the common tools for rigging and modeling (compared to Maya)?
It takes years to master software like Maya. I'am afraid to invest the necessary time in Blender, don't know if it will pay off.

Can you guys, who made the swap, share a little bit on how was it? Where/how should I start learning again ?

Thanks.

Replies

• Andreicus
    Offline / Send Message
    Andreicus polycounter lvl 6
    Theory, tools and workflows are more or less the same for every software. Modeling is still modeling, animation is still animation, artistic and technical theory is always the same.
    I have been using Maya for over 5 years and i'm currently trying out Blender 2.8 but in these years i also tryed basically all the softwares out there: Cinema 4D, Modo, Houdini even Lightwave.

Only 3 things were changing in every software: interface, hotkeys and quality of the tools but after a couple of weeks you are already good to go with the new software if you know what you are doing as an artist and you have mastered your first main software.

Now for Blender i can say that compared to Maya it lacks in the UVs department ( Unfold in Maya is very very good and fast ), maybe animation ( i'm not an animator ) and the gizmo is weird.