Home General Discussion

Whats your IQ score...?

Replies

• JordanN
    Offline / Send Message
    JordanN interpolator
    101-110
    @JordanN They zone out because nobody wants to hear about normal maps and topology, not because of low IQ :D
    I've been thinking about this for a week and I have to disagree.

I don't want to sound like an elitist, nor do I actually think most people are "low IQ" but in all my life, I can't name a single person close to me who ever held a conversation that related to art.

The reason I say this is because the inverse isn't true. When I talk to doctors, I'm happy to hear what they have to say about medicine/biology. When I meet Cashiers/Retail Associates, I could converse with them about the Retail workplace and the prangs of dealing with customers.

Even in fields I have no immediate knowledge on, like I use to work with a guy who was a Car mechanic, again, we could have back and forth conversations with cars.

But when the subject of art comes up, it's resounding dead silence. And personally, I find it horrifying given this is what my life career is about. It sucks that I put all my blood and energy into this, but when I actually bring up what I do in real life, the conversation immediately stops. 

And I know you might say "3D art is a technical thing", but then so is being an Engineer, Doctor, Store manager. They all involve some level of complexity. But holding a conversation that I want to make art for living, just ends in dead stares. 

The only time I did feel comfortable holding an art conversation was when I did go for an job art interview. But even then, not even the art leads I was talking to felt interested after a minute I tried going into specifics. 
  • Alex_J
    Online / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    JordanN said:
    @JordanN They zone out because nobody wants to hear about normal maps and topology, not because of low IQ :D
     just ends in dead stares.