Home General Discussion

Why We Sleep - read this if you are sleeping less than eight hours a night

I've slept less than eight hours a night regularly for most of my life.  This behaviour was based on my work schedule in high school and working in the games industry.  I suspect many of you also sleep less than eight hours a night thanks to crunch time and working late on projects.

I listened to Joe Rogan interview Proffesor Matthew Walker who is a researcher specializing in sleep.  The effect on your body and mind of sleeping six or fewer hours a night is devastating.  It's slow suicide.

If you are sleeping less than eight hours a night regularly, watch the linked video.  His book "Why We Sleep" goes into more detail.

Replies

• Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    No kidding. I've been preaching it for years, though I'm no professor, or famous, or rich, so nobody listens. Nine hours or bust. If you can't sit in a room and stare at a wall for an hour without feeling like it's trouble to stay awake, you didn't get enough sleep. If you sacrifice sleep for more work, the work is going to suffer. 
  • Blond
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Blond polycounter lvl 9
    Too much sleep causes lethargy though. Also why do so many succesful CEO and entrepreneurs preach they only sleep for 4-6 hours?

I know waking up early makes you perform better but over 8 hours of sleep?
  • NikhilR
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    NikhilR polycounter
    Blond said:
    Too much sleep causes lethargy though. Also why do so many succesful CEO and entrepreneurs preach they only sleep for 4-6 hours?

The CEO's are probably successful in business but sleeping less isn't doing wonders for their health.
  • Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message