Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: dGreenberg

polycounter
Offline / Send Message
dGreenberg polycounter
Hey everybody, my name is Dave! I'm an aspiring character artist, and am currently attending Gnomon School of Visual Effects. I wanted to start up a sketchbook on Polycount, to keep myself from posting each individual projects on the 3D Art Showcase Forum (and so I can hopefully follow my own growth and progress a little easier). 

As I post my work, I'm always more than happy to hear any suggestions or critiques, so if you see anything that looks off and have something to say, I'd really appreciate it.

To get things rolling, I'm currently working on a mech / robot type of character, based off of a concept by Ariel Perez. This is my first hard-surface character, and I had no idea how much more difficult it would be (for me) to make this, compared to a more organic character.

HIGH POLY SCULPT:

Replies

• dGreenberg
    Offline / Send Message
    dGreenberg polycounter
    UNREAL WITH TEXTURE ATTEMPT:

The shell might be a little too shiny. Might try to dial that back and see how it reacts. I also want to work more on the Unreal lighting and setup. Should probably get something better than a flat cylinder in there.
  • dGreenberg
    Offline / Send Message
    dGreenberg polycounter
    NEW TEXTURES UPDATED:

I ended up adding a new base as well, but I think I'll change it to something else. It doesn't flow as well with the rest of the character. 
  • dGreenberg
    Offline / Send Message
    dGreenberg polycounter
    MORE TEXTURE FIXES:

I think I've been able to get the textures to a comfortable place, but I want to push this guy the last 10 % to make it a possible portfolio piece. I'm going to try my hand at UE4 particles, and try and make the shadows pop a little more on the base platform. Maybe I should dial back the platform gloss as well. Probably only one or two more posts regarding this character.

• dGreenberg
    Offline / Send Message