Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Need help - Hand painted textures

Replies

• Choppz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Choppz polycounter lvl 3
    Thought I'd give an update showing the deadends I keep meeting, I just end up doing something like the picture below. Looks like a 5 year old's attempt..

In the meantime I'll keep trying, but if someone can point out where I'm going wrong and how I should approach it, I'd be really grateful :)

Screenshot:

bbx5Y5b.pnghttp:

PSD: o9qRJU3.png
  • StevenZer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    StevenZer polycounter lvl 4
    It looks Great but i think you should try baking AO of this model inside maya and try overlaying or multiplying it over the real texture.
  • Choppz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Choppz polycounter lvl 3
    Thanks StevenZer, I'm pretty happy with the wood texture, because I'm still a noob and its a pretty big improvement from my older textures, its just the metal I'm really struggling with.

I've never actually properly used AO, but I think its something I'll definitely look at. The meshes will end up in UDK and I'll get around to making AO maps (though it'll be a new process for me).

But first I want to get the texture nailed down first, and the metal is getting frustrating.

EDIT: That video of the time-lapsed axe paint is awesome, but I can't get my brush to blend as well as his, and I don't see his brush options open during the video
  • StevenZer
  • Choppz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Choppz polycounter lvl 3
    Oh nice, that'll be helpful and from the looks of it, it creates a new image file which I can import into UDK? (I thought I'd have to do it in Photoshop) Thanks a lot man, that'll save me some time down the road ^^

EDIT: I'm going to buy Tyson Murphy's tutorial and take a break on the mine cart for the next few days whilst I work on the tutorial. Hopefully I can come back to it knowing a few more extra bits.
  • StevenZer
    Options