Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Monthly Community Noob Challenge August 2013 (10)

Replies

• JamesArk
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JamesArk polycounter lvl 10
    Had an idea when I started wondering where that spot of light came from in the foreground and have now decided to put in a second dome + skylight separated from the first by a short stretch of wall/ceiling/catwalk. Going to put in the little garden/foliage and the stairs that will lead down to a slightly lower level and probably another door.

Also considering doing the other sets of what appear to be stairs on the sides of the room (judging from the angle of the railing and the arch forming a doorway). Some walls are missing just so that the bottom area can be seen on the blockout. Hopefully I'll be able to work on it more tomorrow and over the weekend.

b4XhAKr.jpg
  • GMBav
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    This is my first time taking part in a Polycount challenge (so apologies if stuff doesn't show or is a bit screwy).

I started by making a quick breakdown of the scene to get an idea of what modules will be instanced or sharing the same textures etc.

Same colours = instanced objects that will share same geometry and textures

Dotted lines = modular breakdown

Hopefully the image shows below

nnd8.jpg Uploaded with ImageShack.us
  • shosh
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    @JamesArk : i think the light is there for composition purpose, to lead you into the picture and to make you follow that path of stones to the middle
  • HAWK12HT
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    HAWK12HT polycounter lvl 12
    Hi , so back here again tried some scale test and partial block out in 3D Max. Here is the partial study i did on the props and dome plus added the final height based on what UDK player scale is. Dome is they tricky part and in case if anyone having issues do check out Modularity stuff on Polycount. :) It will save you trouble