Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Monthly Community Noob Challenge August 2013 (10)

Replies

• davidosterlind
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    davidosterlind polycounter lvl 5
    Pillar,test-bake. Marmoset. 2220 tris.

zwdl.jpg
  • tkfxity
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Current WIP 5Xv5xDg.jpg

new2lw: Lovin the look of the crystal. I like the way you got the geo to look like the crystal in the pic!
  • InProgress
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    InProgress polycounter lvl 14
    Getting a late start at this. Here's my mock-up.
    01_Mockup.jpg
  • NegevPro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    NegevPro polycounter lvl 4
    There's a lot of really nice progress in this thread. I'll definitely attempt this if I can find the time but I'm an ultra noob lol. MY MODELING PACKAGE OF CHOICE IS MICROSOFT PAINT.
  • Greg DAlessandro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Greg DAlessandro polycounter lvl 6
    Here is the modularity blockout (for now), it may change.
    MNC10Blockout_zps0e505fce.jpg
  • David Wakelin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    May I ask how you guys attempted this blockout in terms of scale? I'm having issues addressing the scale of the concept in 3D. If you could give us a quick word of advice then that would be greatly appreciated! :)
  • mmg007
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    @david it depends on the engine you are using. I use udk and the size of the gameplay character in 3dsmax units its around 96 units tall by 32 or more wide. I usually base it off of that but you can scale them up in unreal later. So make a little guy in your scene to what ever looks best to you and make everything in relation to that.

edit: when I started mine I made the outer railing above waist high. on the 96 scale unit.

Hope that helps!
  • David Wakelin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message