Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

m4 WIP thread

Hey all. I know this has been modeled to death but I am new to modeling and wanna stretch my abilities a little bit.

I'm working on a cqb version M4 with rails and an acog scope.
Here's my progress on day 1. I had ALOT of trouble with just the handle, which is embarrassing to admit, but I'm not used to making shapes like this and I've learned alot with the help of you guys :)
So that's pretty much why not alot has been finished today. Im sure more problems will arise as I've never been more focused to details on a model before.

Here's what I have so far for the grip and lower receiver (I'm making the upper/lower receivers two separate meshes for the highpoly model, Im assuming that's how it's done.)
30i7qle.jpg

My next issue is, I cannot use a symmetry modifier on the lower receiver anymore because the magazine well has slightly different features on each side.
How would I go about modeling these parts?
Would they be floating geometry? or should I cut them into the mesh of the lower receiver? (if so, how would I add/terminate supporting edges?)

2q80w2e.jpg

2qd1uop.jpg

Replies

• Amsterdam Hilton Hotel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Amsterdam Hilton Hotel insane polycounter
    you're right that separate parts should generally be separate on the HP. i wonder though - this is day one, are you just starting right in on the HP? have you done a blockout to define all the shapes and ensure the result will be accurate and proportional?
  • Pedro Amorim
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    You should'nt really start making those pieces into hipoly parts until you have everything blocked out.

Start by blocking out everything. WHat I mean, whith this is, get the forms and shpes right, dont worry about how things look. Use tris, use quads, use ngons. Whatever it takes.