Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] - Ben Strasser/ Environment Artist

Hey everyone,

My name is Ben Strasser, I've been kicking around these forums for a couple of months now. I've recently graduated from my program and I am looking for critique on my couple of pieces and content on my site. I'm hoping to use the summer to build a strong enough portfolio to land a job of some kind in the fall.

http://benstrasser.carbonmade.com/

I will also start using this thread to update my works in progress rather then make a new topic about every new piece I make.

Thanks

Ben Strasser

EDIT: My WIP's are at the end of this thread, would love some C and C :)

Replies

• MeintevdS
    Offline / Send Message
    MeintevdS keyframe
    I think most of your work looks good.

The best way to show of your environment is by getting it into an actual game engine. UDK is free and is probably the most used, so I'd say download it and give it a go.

The WWII is being destroyed (see what I did thar? Since all the buildings are broken? D:) by the lighting. You have some fairly huge masses of black in your scene and they are covering all the detail you just took time to model. Make sure your lighting shows off and enhances your work, don't let it cover it up. Shadows are rarely(never?) black in real life and same goes for games.

The boiler room is a bit dark too, but I'm pretty sure that's my monitor, since these are a bit dark. Overall the lighting looks a lot better here!
    The big flaw in these scene however are the piping and wiring in the scene. If you look at the piping on top of the boilers you cylinders with at least 20 sides
    which is the same amount as the boilers even though these are 10 times as large.
    But then when I look at the bend pieces of metal holding the walkways up then are really lowpoly and clearly show the polygons. Get rid of some of the sides on those pipes and some more to the bend pieces of metal.