Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Ninja Woman And Dragon WIP

Hey guys, first post/thread on the PolyCount forums!

I've been looking around it for ages and just never got around to signing up, theres been some amazing art work!

Ok so I decided to start creating a new portfolio piece. I want it to be possible to put in game (to show off my low poly modelling skill as well as high poly). so will be following the work flow of: concept -> base mesh (3ds max) -> high poly (zbrush) -> low poly (3ds max).

My Scene will be of a ninja-ish/woman with a sword with a dragon behind her (the dragon is kinda her persona... if that makes any sense).

I'm going to upload my concepts in a minute or so, because I want to see what details you reckon should be in and shouldn't be (im no concept artist though so I'm not looking for critique at this stage.

Hmmm think i'm nearly finished on the sculpting side...

Updated this post with a couple of the latest screenshots:

th_dragon_alpha1.jpg th_dragon_Alpha2.jpg

th_dragon_alpha3.jpg th_dragon_alpha4.jpg

Replies

• r_fletch_r
    Offline / Send Message
    r_fletch_r polycounter lvl 9
    Welcome! post the pic allready :)
  • DrunkShaman
    Offline / Send Message
    DrunkShaman polycounter lvl 14
    hmmh....Welcome to the Polycount here you will find the desired tips and crits to have a firm grip of you 2d and 3d art skills.
  • fyran
    Sorry I didn't post the pic sooner, took longer than I thought for the moderators to check my first post :). Thanks for the warm welcome guys!

remember! I'm no concept artist but here goes *gulp*

WomanAndSword_Concepts.jpg?t=1275128401

Thubmnail was tiny so I put in the full size, because polycount has auto resizing afaik...

What I would like to know is what elements I should put in and what I shouldn't. I want something that will be a challenge to model and make people go Wow would you look at that! ^^