Home Contests & Challenges Archives

TF2 - Polypack - Ravidge

Outback Hunter

outback_hunter_promo.jpg
[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_7Igmvn2AhY"][/ame]

Original Post Starts here

Be polite...

Hello.
I'm quite new to 3D modeling in general. But I love TF2 and have already spent countless hours in the SDK creating custom maps (link). I thought a competition like this would be a good source of motivation to learn modeling properly.

Be efficient...

I plan to create content for the Sniper class, the theme might be something like a hunter I guess. I'm going to start small with a hat, because I need the practice!

Have a plan...

I made a few quick sketches in photoshop for the hat that I wanted to create
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1281220/perspective.png
Then I was so eager to start that I just sat down for a bit and actually modeled it.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1281220/SS-2010.05.29-23.26.55.png

I also managed to put it ingame, but it has no textures yet so it looks kinda awful. I have ideas for replacements for all the sniper weapon slots already in my head, but I'll let them cook for awhile before I present them.

I'm always interested in hearing what people think and improvement suggestions, so please make a quick comment!

Replies

• Nerdlights
    Good so far, the model defienetly needs smoothing out, and if hunting is your theme, I suggest a red/blue plaid texture, like a stereotypical hunting cap
    Example:http://www.e4hats.com/images/p_banner/level_3/Buffalo_Plaid_Hunter_Cap.gif
    On a side note, what program did you use?
  • BeRz
  • Ravidge
    Thanks. I was a little worried about adding too many triangles so I tried to keep the count low on purpose. I might have been a little too careful though since it's only about 380 tris at the moment.
    I'll see if I can smooth out some corners.