Home Contests & Challenges Archives

TF2 - Polypack - Zipfinator

Replies

• Zipfinator
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Zipfinator polycounter lvl 9
    I definitely think the oil can would be a fine item replacement. I would suggest that they could just use it as a slightly altered Jarate but also suggest some extra mechanics. A few of them are in my original post.

Anyway I guess I'll continue with the oil can after the hat and wrench are done and see how it's going. I was really having trouble texturing it before though. I'm not a graphic designer so it's been pretty tough designing logos in Photoshop. Depending on how it goes when I try it again I might scrap it and just do that pistol.
  • J-Factor
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mechanics use plenty of tools that are similar to pistols. It doesn't have to be another boring side-arm. This is the Engineer we're talking about - I'm sure he could modify one of these to be pretty deadly. I think the oil can concept would work better in gun form anyway - Valve have been pretty picky with 'grenade' type weapons. I can imagine the Engineer shooting his buildings with oil to speed them up and maybe criting enemies that are on fire too.

guardair08-79SGU.jpg
    sealey-oil-can-180ml.jpg
    98005.jpg
    41McjWHo4WL._SL500_AA280_.jpg
    86917.jpg
    power-drill-1.jpg
  • Zipfinator
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I was planning to do a grease gun at first as you can see on the first page of my thread but I decided to go with an oil can since it can basically be a Jarate replacement. Those other things are just suggestions for it. While the grease gun is a good idea I think the oil can is better as a replacement for current weapons since a grease gun would need new particles and animations while a Jarate replacement would just need recolored particles and screen overlays.