Home Technical Talk

Blender Mega Thread

Replies

• Daew
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Daew polycounter lvl 9
    Ah cheers  Pior! esc works great. just another quick question which i should probably google. Can i "tear" out windows like in maya or photoshop?

And yeah I'll stick with the default for a while. Pretty excited to explore blender, as a Maya user i've only heard fable of a modifier stack. Hope it lives up to the legends ;p.

• pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter
    That would be Window > Duplicate window. And you can then streamline that new window so that it shows only one panel (UVs for instance). However I have very little experience with that, and I don't think this can be saved as preference since it is essentially a whole other instance of the program. Not sure !

What I personally do is to keep a very thin panel at the bottom of my layout, that I can then easily expand into whatever I need - UV editor, timeline, and so on . And I then reduce it down to a few pixels when done.
  • Daew
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Daew polycounter lvl 9
    Ah alright, thanks for the answers
  • Yadoob
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yadoob polycounter lvl 7
    You can use the shift hotkey when dragging the gizmo, it'll make it as a new window. It's Shift+Space to quickly expand window (I guess you already know that :smile: ). There's also a set of layouts that you can find and modify in the Info menu and save it as preference.
  • pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter
    Oh, I completely forgot about shift dragging the panels ! Thanks for pointing it out. Goes to show that they really, really need to make that sort of very useful stuff more discoverable.
  • AtticusMars
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AtticusMars greentooth
    Has anyone had any luck setting up a rounded edge shader that bakes cleanly?
  • MmAaXx
    Options