Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

katerina yonce

Hey guys, my name is Kat. I'm currently a student in the Dallas area and i just started doing 3d modeling. This barrel is my 1st prop and i'm looking forward to doing more 3d! First time doing a low poly, high poly, textures and even posting screenshots. I would like to thank Raul and Phillip for helping out! You guys rule! smile.gif

hp_lp.jpg

Maps-for-polycount.jpg

barrel_beauty_shot.jpg

Pineapple grenade

grenade_hp.jpg

here's the ref i used

grenade_reference.jpg

I just started working on this column

column_hp_base.jpg

Replies

• Ben Apuna
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Welcome to Polycount Kat, you're off to a good start.

Here's a few crits:

1. I think the specular on the barrel needs some more work to help differentiate the wood from the metal. You might want to brighten up the specular for the metal parts to get them to have some shine.

2. Take out the red from your AO map it will show up as a red outline around the faces it surrounds when mip mapped in game. In fact it might also be a good idea to change the black dead space to white on the AO as well otherwise it will appear as black outlines when heavily mip mapped.

3. 2048 for a barrel seems a bit high res for a real time asset of this size, unless maybe you're going for "next gen" or it's for a pre rendered cut scene.

4. I would suggest mirroring and/or stacking UVs as a good method for increasing pixel density rather than using larger texture sheets. In many engines you can also use non-square textures to save texture memory and have less wasted UV space. Your barrel for example could have been placed on a 2048 x 1024 map by mirroring most of the wood panels.

Anyway you're first low poly work is way better than what I first made. Keep it up :)
  • pestibug
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pestibug polycounter lvl 18