Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

ODST

So, as many know im a big Halo fan, and as the time goes by, its only getting worse. Guess i dont need to say more.

Ill be ordering alot of sculpting materials and tool for something like 200 dollars, so im realy going to take some big steps now. Im going to work with super sculpey, a clay i have never used before. Also some new tools will come into play wich will probably make sculpting alot easier (since im used to my good ol potato knife).

I use iron wire to build the frame (normaly you would use aluminium i guess).
I used 3 wires, and twisted them into one strong wire. Since the sculpture is going to be 40 cm's high, it needs to be realy strong to support all the weight. (will do more with the frame onces posed)
The arms will be removable, so i still need to build the slides.
There are small indicators where the joints should be, this will help me pose the frame.
On the left in the photo is some small stuff, that will become clear soon enough.

Im very excited, so with this im going to kick off the ODST sculpt.
odst01.jpg

Right now theres alot of guess work, since there are very few references of an ODST.
If any of you guys have some cool refs that he's alowed to share, i would realy appreciate it.

And ofcourse we cant start without a good tune to get excited
[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rPwO8RVUqf0&feature=related[/ame]

Thanks guys :)

Replies

• Cheez
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Cant wait to see how this turns out !
    Rens, I tried digging some old shots of my ODST models but I guess their getting moldy cuz I'm having some issues opening them up. If you have Halo 3 still kicking around, you could try firing up the mission called The Ark. You have ODST's with you in that mission and you could use save films to get some shots of them.
    Sorry about that, dude.
  • pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter