Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Garden Fork

Hi! Its my first time posting here so sorry for any format issues. Anyways, to the point of the post.

Just a quick background, I studied Games Design at University for 3 years and one of my classes was 3D. I have been using 3DS Max for 3 years and although I have made some models and environments I am happy with, I feel like because my course wasn't solely 3D, I am missing some core skills. 

I would like some Feedback on this Garden fork I have started modelling, It's not finished but I have already run into a handful of issues that I am not sure how to solve. 

I should mention all of my modelling is meant for use in Unreal engine.

Here is what I have so far (close ups of problem areas further down). My plan was as follows:

• Model a LP made up of Quads
  • Backup LP, Then add support loops for Turbosmooth
  • Create HP
  • Go back to original LP and optimise topology (triangulation for game engine)
  • Unwrap Optimised LP
  • Bake HP onto LP in substance 
  • Texture LP
  • Import to UE5

This is my usual workflow, I am not sure if its the best way to do things but feel free to criticise that as well as the model. 

I seem understand topology in some areas but not in others. For the most part, I understand where to use more topology and where I can save some faces, but sometimes adding extra topology in a clean way is a struggle for me. For example...

This corner has been an issue for me, I know I need topology here for the curve, but I am not sure how to go about making it clean. I know if its going to a game engine, I could just link them to the vert in the middle of the whole corner and make it a pole, but I need to turbosmooth it before that. If I was to create a pole here, it would cause shading issues.