Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio Critique - Hard Surface Artist

pixelalp
triangle
Offline / Send Message
pixelalp triangle
Hi everyone!  This is my first post in the forum and a bit excited. In short, I graduated architecture dep. at 2020 and worked in archviz area for 2 years, half of a year as freelancer and 1.5 year in a studio. Then I decided to shift my proficiency to Hard Surface Modeling by creating game-ready assets. For almost a year I am trying to develop my skills as a freelancer by doing various models. Now I'm aiming to apply game studios for full-time works but I don't know that is my portfolio covers what studios look for. I am open to every kind of advices

artstation: https://pixelalp.artstation.com
Sketchfab: https://sketchfab.com/pixelAlp/models

Thank you!

Replies

• zetheros
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    zetheros interpolator
    you only need 1-4 good pieces in a portfolio to get hired, but I'm seeing 20 meh student pieces and one crossbow with sort of an interesting design but that needs work. I recommend specializing in something that you're most interested in (weapons?), and putting in 110% effort if you're looking for work.

It's a marathon not a sprint, keep it up and good luck, you might find gamejams and indie dev worthwhile
  • pixelalp
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pixelalp triangle
    zetheros said:
    It's a marathon not a sprint

thank you for wise approach
  • zetheros
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    zetheros interpolator
    np! I'm actually worried I came across as too harsh. Watch more tutorials, be patient & spend more time and care on projects. Definitely look at what your peers are making, and try to figure out how they made it, and why it looks good. You'll have to match or exceed them, because that's where the bar is. You can worry about speed later.
  • pixelalp
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pixelalp triangle