Home Career & Education

Dissertation Help for Games Art and Animation

Tevin
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Tevin polycounter lvl 3
hello everyone

My name is Tevin Henley, and I am a student studying Games art and animation at SAE Institute London. I am Currently in my final year doing my final project and dissertation that I hope you will be able to either help me with or give the relative information that will help inform my thesis. At the moment the question that I am investigating in my paper is "What creative opportunities exist in recreating a historical story/event in a 3D format". I have through many discussions began to identify that the question may be vague but this is where I am hoping you can help narrow it down.

I am looking to recreate or vaguely base a 3d animation with characters created by myself on the historical duel between Miyamoto Musashi and Sasaki Kojiro. I am trying to blend the historical fight between the two samurais and add a fantasy element to the scenario. I have seen games like Ghost of Tsushima and total war and how its based on history or have that historical element, and I was hoping to look at how creative can you be, so how much of the history and design can you distort for the character to be unique to other interpretations of that character. Or are you restrained or restricted by historical record in the way that character fights, talks and behaves, etc.

I am also not entirely sure how to structure it as I am limited to 3000 words.

I have also looked through other posts on polycount to see if anyone else has raised any kind of issue that they have had with a dissertation or a topic that's similar but the best one that I have been able to find is a concept art within environment design topic, so I am not sure how much help it would be in regards to my own dissertation.

https://polycount.com/discussion/158829/dissertation-ideas-about-envrioment-creation-out-of-concept-art