Home Interview

Paul Pepera, hard-surface pro

polycounter lvl 19
Offline / Send Message
adam polycounter lvl 19

Polycount's Hamish Bode had a chance to chat with Paul Pepera, master hard-surface high poly modeler and Lead Mission Artist for 343 Industries.

Hamish Bode: How long have you been involved in the games industry and what's your current role?

Paul Pepera: I have been modding games most of my life but I got my first professional job in 2007 at TimeGate Studios working on Section 8.  I have also worked at id Software before coming to my current job at 343 Industries where I work as a Lead Mission Artist on Halo 4. In between jobs I like to pick up contract work; which was when I was contracted by Tripwire Interactive to model the Panzer IV and T-34 for Red Orchestra 2: Heroes of Stalingrad.

What was the first thing that got you interested in game art?

I knew I wanted to work on games my entire life; however the role I wanted did change over the years. Originally I wanted to be aprogrammer and took classes in C++; I then wanted to be a designer before finally deciding to be an artist. Ultimately I always knew I’d be working on games in some capacity.

What really implanted the idea in my mind to be a game artist, specifically a modeler, was the Doom 3 art book; the model of the Cyberdemon and the Zbrush sculpt of the Pinkie was the clincher. From a game art standpoint I have always been interested in environment art. My passion lays in setting the game inside a spatial context that told a story, fulfilled the need of advancing the gameplay while at the same time remaining visually compelling. Over the years I have focused myself in hard surface modeling but recently I find I’m most interested in lighting. A great model will look like crap with poor lighting, whereas a poor model can look awesome with the proper lighting. It’s the finishing step that ties all the hard work put into modeling, texturing, shader definition, and fx effects all together.