Home General Discussion

Relationship issues caused by 3d?

Replies

• ExcessiveZero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ExcessiveZero polycounter lvl 6
    Obscura wrote: »
    Actually I did other jobs too when there wasn't any freelance jobs. I worked in a factory for example. I understand and know that its not possible to live without money and job, so I would look for a "normal" job if there wouldn't be an other option, like I did. But would you work in a shop or in a factory with good feeling when you are a 3d artist and you worked in studios, and when you can get freelance 3d jobs? And would you give up your goals and dreams because someone doesn't like them?

I think it would surprise you the amount of do nothing jobs out there, a great one to have is lone worker night security, literally all you need to do is show up and stay up all night punching in a code each hour and keep a eye on the premises, back when I was doing that my drawing hugely improved, took a laptop in and a wacom bamboo and my pencils and paper, I would think about CG projects I would do in the future, and watch youtube videos on cg/udk, and read more books than I have ever read, if the Job was permanent I would of gotten a more powerful laptop and stuck it out longer.

a lot of tech support jobs are like this too, spend a small ammount of time rigging up printers and fixing problems people are having then a lot of downtime left to your own devices around computers.

working in a net cafe too, something I also did I had to fill in a table of sales and press a button on a computer every now and then.

so don't close every door on non cg jobs, I know how it feels and I wouldn't expect you to work in a factory or as a baker but you need to be open minded as some of these jobs can be a fantastic opportunity to earn and learn, and can be very much a means to a end, working these places always kept me flush with the hardware I needed and food in my belly.
  • ExcessiveZero
    Options