Home Technical Talk

Mudbox 2013, diffuse map doesn't cover entire object.

So I'm following a tutorial and I'm still new to Mudbox so I'm not sure if this is a really easy fix or not. Nor could I find anything about it other than people asking the same question on this youtube video page of the tutorial.

So the tutorial I'm following is this:

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gRHSbiF6chU"]How to create a terrain for Cryengine and UDK Part 2/8 - YouTube[/ame]
Around the 35 minute mark is what I'm stuck on.

Now when this guy applies the diffuse map it covers the entire object. However when I do it, following the same steps it doesn't cover the entire object. It leaves a strip untextured.

This is what it looks like:

ay9mSFS.jpg

See the brown strip? Not sure why it's not covering that.

Replies

• oglu
    Offline / Send Message
    oglu polycount lvl 666
    i assume your plane is using 100% uv space...
    take a look at the mudbox plane the uvs are slightly scaled down..
    mudbox doesnt like uvs touching the border of the uv space...
  • Dagobert
    oglu wrote: »
    i assume your plane is using 100% uv space...
    take a look at the mudbox plane the uvs are slightly scaled down..
    mudbox doesnt like uvs touching the border of the uv space...

Thing is I used world machine like in the tutorial and that created all the textures for me. I didn't do any of the UV mapping in mudbox just like in the tutorial video. Also when I'm at level 2 of the mesh the texture covers the entire thing but after 2 is when I get the problem.
  • Dagobert
    While still trying to figure out how to fix this, I noticed when I click on the UV View tab I can see the entire diffuse map without it being cut off. Still not sure why it's cutting it off in 3D view and when I render it.
  • oglu
    Offline / Send Message
    oglu polycount lvl 666
    use the mudbox plane... your uvs are to big...
    mudbox wont work with uvs close to the uv border...
  • Dagobert