Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Monthly Noob Environment Challenge 2

Replies

• Skillmister
  • nick2730
  • Obscura
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter
    Bonkahe --> Are you work with 3dsmax? if yes, then add unwrap uvw modifier, save your uv map1, swich to uv map2, and press reset.open up the uv editor, then load your uv1.then click to tools, and then click pack uv-s, check rotate clusters and fill holes, then pack it, and collapse it.thats all
  • Bonkahe
    Offline / Send Message
    Bonkahe polycounter lvl 7
    I personally drop it in the engine after retopoing but before textureing, then when I go to texture it its already in the engine and its just a matter of refreshing the texture to see the way it will look in the final scene.
    But that's just my way... and I'm not a pro or experienced or pretty much anything with slightly competent before it.

Edit: Nick and Obscura! Thank you very much, Nick my internet has a limit (satellite :P) so videos are generally a no go, but that is what I needed, Obscura got it into words pretty simply and it worked beautifully, I'm actually saving both posts for future reference, as for what I did, see for yourself:
    Wip%20render8.png
  • Obscura
    Offline / Send Message
    Bonkahe - It looks like your normalmap is flipped at the side panels. Plus i personally would use more polygons on these panels. Otherwise it looks good :) Oh and one more remark. Why dont you started an empty scene instead of using night scene?
  • Rikimaru03
    are you guys building your pieces to a grid to make for easier importation in to your engine of choice, or are you just "building"?
  • Obscura
    Offline / Send Message
    Rikimaru03 - We must need use grid, to make them fitting with each other
  • nick2730
    Im building to a grid, 16. So i can snap it all together in UDK
  • Bonkahe
    Offline / Send Message