Home Career & Education

Feng Zhu School worth the investment risk?

Replies

• Mithdia
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mithdia polycounter lvl 8
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5xouzSeDKQs In the last minute of the video he describes his typical day schedule. 
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7rI6q6bv7do Here half way into the video Feng mentions how they teach and how they focus a lot of fundamentals. 

If you are going to be self-taught and feel that you are lacking fundamentals then the free website http://drawabox.com/ seems like a decent place to start learning fundamentals.
  • Bletzkarn
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bletzkarn polycounter lvl 6
    Bletzkarn said:
    That goes back to my point.. Fheng Zhu had been painting for 8 years before he touched a wacom tablet, same with sid meid. You can get to that skill level without FZD, it just will take you a longer time.
    Do you have any actual data to support this assertion or is your entire argument constructed on flimsy anecdotes and pop science?
    Personally I'm using hours of practise. Through completing 1 year at FZD you will get about 5000 hours of practise or about 13 hours a day average. I don't know anyone who can work 13 hours a day, for an entire year, by themselves (again not getting paid, just from your own passion). The 5000 hours is taken from students claims that they work 20 hours a day (obviously not possible, so we gave them 9 hours for eating, socializing, grooming and sleeping).

If you casually practised your drawing skills (12 hours a week) it would take you 8 years to reach the same level, if your treated your learning like a job (40 hours a week) it would still take you 2.5 years. Nobody has done a study on the FZD skill so finding a peer reviewed scientific backup is impossible.
  • battlecow
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    battlecow polycounter lvl 12