Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] – Jacob Christopher, Environment Artist

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
jmchristopher polycounter lvl 11
Hello, I just joined the other day. I usually hang out at www.game-artist.net but decided I need to expand my horizons. I just revised my portfolio and added a new piece to it. I know I don't have that much yet. I graduated 3 months ago from Full Sail University and have been working part time, job hunting and doing portfolio projects.

www.jmchristopher.com

I am looking for criticism on both my work and portfolio site. Both are about 99% done, so I thought I would ask if there is anything I over looked.

Thanks

Replies

• Jeremy Lindstrom
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jeremy Lindstrom polycounter lvl 18
  • jmchristopher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fixed, thanks.
  • PixelMasher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PixelMasher veteran polycounter
    for the demo reel, the car is a pretty boring start, I like the enviro work much better. the unreal level looks great dude.
  • killingpeople
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    killingpeople polycounter lvl 18
  • jmchristopher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    for the demo reel, the car is a pretty boring start, I like the enviro work much better. the unreal level looks great dude.

Your right, that's what pretty much every one told me. I don't think it is worth changing now, I should do some more game art and put new stuff into a second reel.

Thanks for the comments.

Bloom!? what about it? too much of a cliche among unreal engine content?
  • killingpeople
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bloom!? what about it? too much of a cliche among unreal engine content?

i don't mean to cool-police the bloom. i was thinking the use of bloom, depth of field, blur, or whatever kind of post processing you're using in those shots is hiding your work. it's just a big blur! like i've got chlorine in my eyes.